Cygnus Ensemble Summer Ensemble

With its pairs of plucked strings, bowed strings and woodwinds, Cygnus has a precedent in the Elizabethan “broken consort”.

The members –Tara Helen O'Connor, flute; Robert Ingliss, oboe; William Anderson and Oren Fader, classical and electric guitars/mandolin/banjo; Calvin Wiersma, violin; Susannah Chapman, violoncello–are all virtuoso players with a great wealth of experience with some of our most cherished musical institutions, including the New York Philharmonic, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, and the Metropolitan Opera Chamber Players. Cygnus has given a concert series in New York City since 1994. Concert tours include Russia, Holland, Denmark, Poland, Mexico, and the U.S. Recent honors include a Pulitzer Prize finalist (“Brion,” by Harold Meltzer, written for Cygnus), and a commissioning award from Chamber Music America (Akemi Naito’s “Mindscape; Four Poetic Images”. Cygnus has had two works featured on Art of the States, presently, Wuorinen's Sonata for Guitar and Piano – Art of the States broadcasts outstanding American music in 50 countries around the world. By donation

Détails de l'événement


22 août 2019 • 12 h 15

St. George’s Cathedral



Organisateur :

St. George’s Cathedral